Does a flat-rate or volume-tiered returns app cost less at your return volume?

Agentis analysis of Return Prime's published Shopify App Store pricing shows the free tier's $0.49 per-return overage fee crosses the $19.99 Grow plan's flat monthly cost at 46 returns a month. Below that volume the free plan is cheaper; above it, staying on the free plan to avoid a monthly fee actually costs more than upgrading.

Inputs

How many returns you process in a typical month.

Results

Cost on Free Plan (5 free, then $0.49 each)

$20.09

Cost on Grow Plan ($19.99 flat, up to 60)

$19.99

How Much More the Free Plan Costs

$0.10

Return Prime's published Shopify App Store pricing tiers

Download CSV
TierMonthly PriceIncluded ReturnsOverage Rate
Start (Free)$05/month$0.49 per additional request
Grow$19.9960/monthNot disclosed past cap
Thrive AI$79.99180/monthNot disclosed past cap
Scale$149.99450+/monthNot disclosed past cap

Source: Shopify App Store: Return Prime (retrieved August 7, 2026). Return Prime's listing states overage costs of $0.49-$0.79 per additional request depending on plan level but only itemizes the exact $0.49 rate for the free tier, so this table doesn't state a specific overage figure for the paid tiers past their caps.

Cost of staying on Return Prime's free plan vs upgrading to Grow, by monthly return volume

Download CSV
Monthly ReturnsFree Plan CostGrow Plan CostCheaper Option
10$2.45$19.99Free plan
20$7.35$19.99Free plan
30$12.25$19.99Free plan
40$17.15$19.99Free plan
46$20.09$19.99Grow plan
60$26.95$19.99Grow plan

Source: Shopify App Store: Return Prime (retrieved August 7, 2026). Agentis synthesis: arithmetic applied to Return Prime's own published per-request overage rate ($0.49 beyond the 5 free monthly returns) and the Grow plan's flat $19.99 monthly price.

How we calculate this

Return Prime's own Shopify App Store listing publishes each tier's monthly price, included-return count, and the free tier's per-request overage rate. The crossover volume where upgrading becomes cheaper is Agentis synthesis: pure arithmetic on those published numbers. Flat-rate apps like Loop Returns, whose paid tiers don't cap return volume, don't have this crossover dynamic at all, since price doesn't scale with how many returns you process. Read our full methodology →

Expert Insight

Merchants pick the free plan by default and treat the monthly fee on the next tier up as the thing to avoid. That's backwards past a certain volume. A per-request overage fee is a variable cost that scales with your worst month, while a flat monthly fee is fixed no matter how many returns come in. Once you're consistently over the free tier's included volume, the 'free' plan is quietly the more expensive one. The right question isn't which plan costs less on paper. It's which plan costs less at the volume you're actually running.

Herzel Mishel, CEO & Co-Founder

Frequently Asked Questions

Does every returns app charge per return past a free allowance?

No. Pricing models differ by app. Return Prime's tiers are volume-capped with a per-request overage fee, while other returns apps, including Loop Returns' paid plans, charge a flat monthly rate with no return-volume cap. Which model costs less depends entirely on how many returns you process each month. Return Prime's published listing includes 5 returns a month on its free Start tier and charges $0.49 for each additional request. The Grow plan is $19.99 flat for up to 60 returns, Thrive AI is $79.99 for 180, and Scale is $149.99 for 450 or more. The crossover is 46 returns a month: below it the free plan is cheaper, above it the flat plan wins. A per-request fee scales with your worst month while a flat fee does not, so check your monthly return count, including peak months, against these thresholds before choosing a plan.

Related Pages

All Sources on This Page

Agentis finds margin leaks automatically.

Data last updated August 7, 2026. Browse all App & Tooling Costs pages →